Skip to main content

2015 Award Recipients

For the inaugural year of this endeavor, Academic Innovation (AI) via the Teaching and Learning Commons (TLC) awarded  eight grants to West Virginia University faculty to spur the integration of technology into the classroom. The quality of the applications was so strong, the number of grants was expanded from the original allotment of six, and an honorable mention category was established which allowed AI to provide additional support to those projects.

“Our AI staff were highly pleased at the creative applications a small investment of technology could have on teaching and learning,” said Sue Day-Perroots, Associate Vice-President of Academic Innovation. Our staff in the Teaching and Learning Commons look forward to exploring the technologies and teaching pedagogies with the awardees for sharing at next year’s Celebrate event.”

The grants were awarded to:
  • James Thompson, Plant and Soil Sciences, to purchase iPads and a Wifi hotspot for field-based research with digital soil maps;
  • Jonathan Cumming and Phil Crim, Biology, to purchase tablets and deploy Miracast wireless technology to engage students in class;
  • Melissa Hartley and Barbara Ludlow, Special Education, to purchase five pairs of 3D goggles for virtual reality classroom simulations;
  • Holly Ressetar and Bruce Palmer, Neurobiology and Anatomy, for interactive software to stimulate student interaction in the study of histology.
  • Virginia Kline and David Miller, Potomac State College Library, to purchase four GoPro cameras to introduce freshmen to the technology for their e-portfolios;
  • Matthew Dietz, Suzanne Danley, and Phillip Bostian, Orthopedics, to purchase a GoPro camera to videotape surgeries and create a library of film for medical students;
  • Matt Anderson, Curriculum & Instruction, Terence Ahern, Instructional Design & Technology, and Nick Bowman, Communication Studies, to purchase wearable Technology (Google Glass/Smart Watch) to record and study the perspectives of teacher candidates for rigorous classroom reflection;
  • Thomas Griggs, Louis McDonald, and David Davis, Plant & Soil Sciences, to purchase agricultural field sensors for students to learn and interpret measurements from them.

These proposals were deemed worthy of an honorable mention, and Academic Innovation will be assisting the faculty in finding alternative sources of funding:

  • Evan MacCarthy, Music, seeking Adobe Captivate and Presenter software for a flipped classroom;
  • Mark Schraf, Chemistry, seeking two Microsoft Surface Pro 3 tablets for video creation;
  • Jill Schaumloeffel, Applied Science, Computer Information Systems, seeking a SMART podium interactive pen display; and
  • Dylan Collins, School of Art & Design, needing materials for a MakerBot 3D printer.
  • The awardees are expected to incorporate the technology into the classroom during the 2015-16 academic year and present their findings in a poster session at 2016's Celebrate event.